Membership

University of Southern Queensland Eleventh Council



Term of Office: 07/10/2021 to 06/10/2025

Official Members (3)

Three Official Members, the Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor and the Chairperson of the Academic Board

Chancellor	Chair - Chancellor's Committee
Hon Dr John McVeigh	Chair - Remuneration Sub-Committee
	Chair - Honorary Awards
	Member - Audit and Risk Committee
	Member - Finance and Facilities Committee
Acting Vice-Chancellor	Member - Chancellor's Committee
Professor Karen Nelson	Member - Honorary Awards Committee
BIT, BIT(Hons), PhD QUT, PFHEA	Member - Finance and Facilities Committee
Chair (Academic Board)	Member - Chancellor's Committee Member
Professor Alexander Kist	Member - Honorary Awards Committee
PHD(ElectCommEng) <i>RMIT</i> , Diplom-Ingenieur (FH) in Communications Engineering <i>Fachhochschule Offenburg</i> , <i>Germany</i>	
From the 16 July 2024	

Appointed Members (5)

Five Members appointed by the Governor-In-Council

Mr Chris Bazley	Agricultural Business Advisor/Farmer
BBus <i>Qld,</i> FAICD	Chair - Finance and Facilities Committee
	Member - Audit and Risk Committee



	Member - Chancellor's Committee
	Member - Remuneration Sub-Committee
Mr Brett Delaney BCom Qld, FCA	Retired President, National Heart Foundation of Australia (Qld Division)
	Retired Member, National Board, National Heart Foundation of Australia
	Retired Assurance Partner,PricewaterhouseCoopers
	Retired Chair of Audit Committee, Honeycombes Property Group
	Chair - Audit and Risk Committee
	Member - Chancellor's Committee
	Member - Finance and Facilities Committee
Aunty Lorraine Hatton OAM	Ngughi/Nunukul Female Elder
	Retired Servicewoman, Australian Regular Army
	President, Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Dedicated Memorial Committee
	Director, Quandamooka Yoolooburrabee Aboriginal Corporation. Ambassador, Corporate Protection Australia Group
	Patron of the Indigenous Youth Mobility Pathways Project
	Indigenous Elder, Australian Army.
	Mentor, Preston Campbell Foundation
	Mentor, Gold Coast Titans Deadly Futures and Community Programs
	Member - Chancellor's Committee
	Member - Honorary Awards Committee
Assistant Commissioner Charysse Pond APM	Southern Region, Queensland Police Service
BA(Soc) CQU, GradDipCrim QUT, MLship&Mgt(Policing) CSU, GradCertAppliedMgt AIPM, GAICD	Member - Remuneration Sub-Committee
Ms Amanda Kenafake	Accredited Mindshop Facilitator



BCom USQ, CPA Public Practice Certificate, Diploma of	Commissioner for Declarations
Financial Planning	Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors
	Graduate of Executive Acumen – Acumen International (Executive Program), Associate of Taxation Institute of Australia
	CEO of Power Tynan
	Director of Magwealth Pty Ltd
	Director of PT 20 Pty Ltd
	Director of Natural Capital Co Pty Ltd
	Board member of TSBE
	Chair of Food Leaders Australia,
	Treasurer for Lachlan Hughes Foundation Member
	Finance and Facilities Committee Member
	Remuneration Sub-Committee Member
	Audit and Risk Committee

Elected Members (3)

One member of the full-time academic staff of the University	Professor (Law), School of Law and Justice, Faculty of Business, Education, Law and Arts UniSQ
Professor Pauline Collins LLB Adelaide, BVisArt, GDipProfComm USQ, LLM, PhD Qld, GAICD	Member - Honorary Awards Committee
One member of the full-time general staff of the University	Industry Relationships Consultant (National Priorities and Industry Linkages) Support for
Ms Rachel Hennessy	Learning UniSQ
BBusCommerce USQ, MAICD	Member - Honorary Awards Committee
One elected student member	Current student
Ms Esther Rachel Shajan	Elected Student Member from 1 September 2024.



Additional Members (3)

Three Council appointed Members, at least one graduate of the University, must not be a student or member of the University academic or general staff

Deputy Chancellor	Solicitor
Mr George Fox	Adjunct Professor of Law
BCom, LLB (Hons) Qld	Member - Audit and Risk Committee
	Member - Chancellor's Committee
	Member - Finance and Facilities Committee
	Member - Remuneration Sub-Committee
Ms Heidi Dugan BCA USQ, AssDipBusIntern'ITrade RMIT	Television and Live Broadcast Host
	Member of Board of Directors
	AustCham Shanghai
	Director and Co-Owner, Chef Mama
	Health and Wellness Lifestyle Coach
[Additional Member Vacancy]	

Director (Governance) and University Secretary

Ms Julie Shinners	Director (Governance) and University Secretary
BA <i>UCSQ</i> , GCertAsianSt <i>USQ</i> , MTertEd(Mgt) <i>Melb</i> , MAICD	

Modification History

3/7/2024	Exec Officer Council	Updated to new template – updated new AB Chair and Student Member and updated Additional member now a GIC member
2/12/2024	Exec Officer Council	Updated Chancellor

